Business Support

Removing direct-trunk-overflow from a routing plan

The direct-trunk-overflow (DTO) feature ensures callers terminate with a DID/ANI ring-to number and have the opportunity to speak with someone.

To remove DTO from a routing plan:

  1. Click the Products & Services tile, then click the Inventory subtile.

    Control Center displays a list of all services assigned to the accounts under your enterprise ID. If you have more than ten services, you can view the rest of your services by clicking one of the green linked Show numbers at the top of the list or you can click the green down arrow at the bottom of the list to add ten services at a time to the view.
  1. Search for the service with the routing plan you want to remove direct-trunk-overflow from in one of these ways:

    • Sort your services using the Sort by… list (e.g., Service Type). You can toggle between descending and ascending order using the arrow to the right of the Sort by… list.

    • Filter your services by selecting an option from the View All (Default) list.

    • Search for the service (by service type, account, etc.) using the Search by… field and search box. (To search using multiple search criteria, click Advanced Search, then fill in your search criteria and click Apply Search Filters. When you're done, click Close Advanced Search.)

  2. When you find the service, click the green arrow on the right of the line for the service, the Details section opens.

    In the example below:

    • The default call plan, designated with a dark gray bar, is known as the global default.

    • Geographic routing, designated with a light blue bar, is known as a feature.

    • Two areas, each designated with a light gray bar, are known as rules.

    • Calls from area codes in Colorado, Arizona, and Nebraska go to a number in Colorado. 

    • Calls from any other US area code go to a number in Virginia. 

    • On the dark gray bar, you can see the call plan also has direct-trunk-overflow—two trunk groups with an arrow (->) between them to indicate the overflow.
  1. From the Call Plan More Actions list, select Edit Call Plan.

  2. Click the Global Default (dark gray) bar.

  3. In the window, select the None radio button, then click Select.
  1. Scroll to the bottom of the screen, then click Save Changes.

  2. Enter a date and time for when you want the new routing to take effect, then click Submit.
Not quite right?

Check out these other, popular search topics: