Business Support

Resetting your Polycom VVX series phone

You can reset your VVX series phone to the factory settings two ways:
 

  • using a multiple-key combination
  • using your phone's menu

Resetting your VVX series phone using a multiple-key combination

You can also use a multiple key combination to reset your phone to the factory defaults. Select one of the models below, press and hold the keys simultaneously during the updater/BootROM countdown process until the password prompt appears:
 

  • VVX 1500 phones—4, 6, 8, and * dial pad keys

  • VVX 300, 310, 400, 410 phones—1, 3, and 5 dial pad keys

  • VVX 500 and 600 phones—1, 3, and 5 dial pad keys

Tip: Prior to the phone's UC Software release 4.0.0, the multiple key combination only resets the device, clearing the flash parameters and deleting all log files. Within the updater, this is still true.

Resetting your VVX series phone using the phone's menu:

  1. Select Menu > Settings > Advanced > Administration Settings > Reset to Defaults.

Select one of the following options:

  • Reset Local Configuration—clears the override file generated when changes are made using the phone user interface.
  • Reset Web Configuration—clears the override file generated by changes using the Web Configuration Utility.
  • Reset Device Settings—resets the phone’s flash file system settings that are not stored in an override file. These are your network and provisioning server settings and include custom certificates and encryption keys. local, internet, and other configuration files remain intact. 
  • Format File System—formats the phone’s flash file system and deletes the UC Software application, log files, configuration, and override files. If the override file is stored on the provisioning server, the phone re-downloads the override file when you provision the phone again. Formatting the phone’s file system does not delete the device settings affecting network and provisioning. Any certificates and encryption keys remain on the phone. 
  • Reset to Factory—removes the inernet and local override files, any stored configuration files in the flash file system, as well as any custom certificates and encryption keys. All network and provisioning settings are reset but the UC Software application and updater remain intact.